How To Remove iOS 17 Beta On iPhone & Downgrade To iOS 16

9


The public beta of iOS 17 is already available to download on iPhone, but users who find this version too buggy can downgrade to iOS 16. Apple has made it easier than ever before to download beta versions of its operating systems. The developer beta, which earlier required a paid developer account that costs $99 a year, is now available for free to all users. Additionally, the public beta can also be easily accessed right from the iPhone Settings app, without needing to download a configuration profile.


SCREENRANT VIDEO OF THE DAY

SCROLL TO CONTINUE WITH CONTENT

The iOS 17 public beta, while surprisingly stable, does come with its share of bugs. While it is possible to downgrade to iOS 16, users will need to keep a few things in mind. First up, access to a Mac or Windows PC is required, since the iPhone needs to be erased and restored. Second, users should have a backup of their iPhone made before upgrading to iOS 17 beta. This step is important, since iOS 17 backups can’t be restored to iOS 16. If users don’t have a backup, they will need to set up their iPhone from scratch. In this case, it makes sense to sync all important files to iCloud before downgrading.

Related: 12 New Features Coming With iOS 17 And iPadOS 17 This Year


How To Downgrade From iOS 17 To iOS 16

iPhone restore option on Mac

The steps to downgrade to iOS 16 are the same on Windows and Mac, except that users will need to use iTunes for the latter. A Lightning to USB cable is also required for connecting the iPhone to the PC. Before getting started, users should ensure that their Mac is updated to the latest version of macOS, and the iTunes app is updated to its latest version on Windows.

Next, connect the iPhone to the computer. Finder should automatically open on Mac, and iTunes on Windows. If not, open the programs manually. Now put the iPhone in recovery mode by following these steps: press and quickly release the volume up button. Next, press and quickly release volume down. Finally, press and hold the side (power) button until recovery mode appears on the screen (black screen with a computer and Lightning cable).

Click on the ‘Restore’ button on the screen, which will erase the iPhone and install the latest version of iOS 16. If the download takes longer than 15 minutes and the recovery screen disappears, users should let the download finish, and then put the iPhone in recovery mode again by following the steps above.

Once the restore is complete, enter the Apple ID and password. Users can now set up their iPhone from an iCloud or local backup. If users don’t have a backup, they will need to set up their iPhone from scratch. Once the iPhone is running iOS 16 again, it will continue to receive all remaining iOS 16 updates until iOS 17 is released in the fall.

Source: Apple